Use your browser Back button to return to an existing TACS Database Search, or click here to start a new search.
St John the Baptist Church (rebuilt 1870, architect George Gilbert Scott), Church Street, has a fine display of Godwin’s encaustic floor tiling in the chancel, which was reconstructed in 1892-3.
The Stanley Works in South Norwood, founded by the inventor and philanthropist W. F. R. Stanley (1829-1909), manufactured and exported scientific instruments. Stanley relinquished control of his firm in 1900 and thereafter devoted his time and fortune to the betterment of South Norwood, initially by the construction of a public hall. He designed, financed and supervised the building of the Stanley Hall and its art gallery in 1901-3, later adding a smaller hall (1904), the Trade Schools (1907) and several additional rooms, the whole being completed only after his death in 1909. The Stanley Halls complex on South Norwood Hill has been owned by the Borough of Croydon since 1944. Although some of the original elaborate decoration has disappeared, much remains including the odd earthenware flowerpots mounted above the gable end and a pair of green-glazed cherubs on the facade. Inside, there is extensive wall tiling and a stunning ceramic stair, all by Burmantofts, as confirmed where their trademark ‘propellor blade’ tile back has made an impression on the wall. The Halls were refurbished in 1987 and English Heritage installed a blue plaque on the facade in 1993.
1.^ J. Steele, ed, Croydon's Built Heritage (Croydon Society, 1995).
The Tile Gazetteer is Copyright © 2005 Tiles and Architectural Ceramics Society and Lynn Pearson, Richard Dennis.